Tags

, , , ,

Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek. – Barack Obama

Things started on 2nd July this year at Vertex Software Pvt. Ltd.. We are 8 of us undergoing Japanese Language and Culture (JLC) training out of which 7 of us are freshers including me. First we learned to greet in japanese, then started with hiragana, katakana, Kanji and the rest is a long story. After lot of hard work (not by me, but by our Japanese teacher), we are am now able to write, read and communicate in Japanese.

Also we learned a lot about the Japanese culture. It began with bow and greeting to every person we meet (obviously in office), eating using chopstick, followed by the manner of exchanging cards and lot more. Post 5 months of JLC training, here I explain some of things that have changed in me.

Got Punctual

Slowly I began to understand the importance of minute and then of a second. In college if I used to be late by 50 minutes in a 1 hour lecture, then friends used to say “yaar tu sahi time pe aaya hai…nahi toh attendance nahi lagta” (you have come n right time, else you wouldn’t have got attendance) and here in office my training starts at 9:30 am and if I reach even a second post 9:30 am then I need say bunch of sorry to bunch of individuals. So now I am left with only two options either be before time or make a contact saying that I would be late and reason for being late.

Wake Up Early

I think I have rarely attended any lecture scheduled before 10:00 am. It was really tough and hard to get out of the bed before sun had fully shown into my bedroom. But all this changed when a backbreaking month of July started. I pulled my self out of bed by 8:00 or so. Earlier I used to set up pattern of lateness by getting up late and now by getting up early I feel that I have actually washed out my habit of lateness.

Learned To Plan Ahead Of Time

Planning is bringing the future into the present so that you can do something about it now. – Alan Lakein

Although the process of planning puts lots of strain on one’s mind, but what I am happy with is the calmness that you feel once everything is planned. I used to plan just few bits of my life during my college days, which was always an outline of the plan. Now I have started planning much ahead of the time, sometimes I end up planning month before even for the smallest task. I maintain a task diary to help me remember about my assignments and thus help me fight with deadlines. I can plan most of the things, but to be true I really mess up with finances. That’s what I target to achieve in the start of next year.

Stopped Judging Person On First Impression

Many of us, when we talk with someone for the first time we automatically tend to make certain assumption about a person. I also follow the same, but now I have learned that it is fine to pay attention to someone’s first impression but its never a good choice to judge a person on first impression. Many a time first impression can be wrong. At the start of training I too judged individuals based on first meeting, I made some good/bad conclusion about them, but I was wrong. Later as time passed I realized that a real personality of friend can only be understood after you spend some time with him/her.

What One thinks..can be bought to stage..turned into a reality

This reminds me of the great quote said by Shahrukh Khan in movie “Om Shanti Om”

… Agar kisi cheez ko dil se chahoo too
Pori kaynaat usay tumse milne ki kosehesh me lagjati hia..

-said by Shahrukh Khan in Om Shanti Om

This is really true. Anything that I really want to do, I did it. or I should say I was made able to do by all the positive forces revolving around me. Ahh.. some philosophical words right? Actually I can’t give you any examples that explains you why I think that “Everything is Possible”, but I can assure you that whatever you think it can be brought live with just few out of box efforts.

There are lot more things that I learned while undergoing first on-job training, but to keep it simple and short I would like to end it here. Now I would like to hear what you felt after working for first few months? What were the changes in you? Did you turned into a workaholic or a remained a cool dude?

