There I found that my PC began to crawl slowly and steadily as I installed Service Pack 2 of Windows XP. I thought it would have been due to the less amount of the RAM I have. I was bit disappointed but tried around the XP to find out some quick solution. I first tried to explore the new thing in the SP2 of the Win XP as in contrast to the original XP. I tracked down a small number of differences and when I was bit amazed, I told my friend about the differences, he replied with a sweet smile and said there are lot many diffreneces…I am sure you can't find do them all.
I tooked his word as a serious statement and began to find some nifty differences, I began smoothly, but was again stucked with slow speed, so I went down to first find the solution to increase the speed, I visited lots of search engines for the answer but ended with only bit of information. But yesterday I came across a good article from techtree.com. It just shooked me off. By reading that article, I got to know that how much of the process are running in the background
and consuming a processors time. I followed the article and diabled all the mentioned option according to my feasibility.
I started that by navigating to Start -> Run -> and type "services.msc". I just disabled or enabled a long list of options, as specified by the artcile.Some of the service I have disabled till now are….

Services

Computer Browser"Maintains an updated list of computers on the network and supplies this list to computers designated as browsers."

Contrary to what it may sound like, disabling this service still
allows you to browse a network in your office. And of course, you don't
need this at home. Disable it.

Error Reporting Service

"Allows error reporting for services and applictions running in non-standard environments."

I.e. "Send system information to Microsoft." No thanks. Disable it.

Help and Support

"Enables Help and Support Center to run on this computer."

This is okay to leave as-is if you hit F1 a lot, but if you almost
never need to use the built-in help features (as opposed to just
Googling for the problem – always a better option), then disabling this
service would be a good idea. Now the problem is that the service
automatically gets turned back on when required even if its disabled,
so keeping it disabled is actually a better option to keeping it on
automatic.
Net Logon

"Supports pass-through authentication of account logon events for computers in a domain."

Useless for single machines or even most networks out here that don't actually have a domain. Disable.

NetMeeting Remote Desktop Sharing

"Enables an authorized user to access this computer remotely by using NetMeeting over a corporate intranet."

As a general rule of thumb, avoid any combination of "remote" and
"internet/intranet". If you don't want people to use NetMeeting to
connect to your computer and see your desktop over the
Internet/Intranet, disable this please.
Remote Desktop Help Session Manager

"Manages and controls Remote Assistance."

Remote Assistance should be avoided. Disable this service.

Security Center

"Monitors system security settings and configurations."

That thing that pops up and tells you when your firewall is down,
your anti-virus is out of date, or automatic updates are turned off.
Personally, I like the alerts because then I know my anti-virus was
unable to download its updates. I don't really bother with the firewall
and my automatic updates are always on. If you've never needed or
received any alerts on these events, this service can be disabled. The
feature doesn't offer any protection by itself – it is only a monitor.
Not really required.

The techtree.com in article Guide to Useless Sevices in it's software guide section have given a good explanation in all about 29 services. Must Read….Althogh here I am bit late the article was posted some where in early Jan. But it helped me out this days and thus I posted it here. Now I have just increase the speed of my PC by a small fraction.

Courtsey: Techtree

